Skip to main content

Newspapers and News Magazines: News

Contemporary Newspapers

Historic Newspapers

American Newspapers

 

Ashland Herald-Progress - microfilm, 1919--present, no index.

Richmond Christian Advocate - microfilm, 1869--1939, index on first reel of microfilm.

Richmond Daily Dispatch (1860--1865)

Electronic full-text access to primary Richmond newspaper during the Civil War years.

Richmond Times-Dispatch - microfilm, 1950--present, no index.

Paper and its preceding papers available online from 1850--1914 via Chronicling America (see entry below) as Daily Dispatch, 1850--1884; Richmond Dispatch, 1884--1903; Daily Times, 1886--1889; Times, 1890--1903; Times-Dispatch, 1903-1914.

Virginia Gazette - microfilm, 1736-1780, index at Ref. F221 .V45 1950

Virginia Gazette Online - 1736--1780, some known issues missing from the online version (digitized by Colonial Williamsburg Foundation).

Yellow Jacket (Randolph-Macon College) - microfilm and Special Collections, 1915--present, no index.

Collections:

Birth of America - microfilm, 1763-1783, various newspapers; index volume at Ref. E187 .J65 

Civil War: A Newspaper Perspective - November 1860 -- April 1865

Full-text and images of Civil War era newspapers: The Charleston Mercury, The New York Herald, and the Richmond Enquirer. Other newspapers are listed when connection to this database; we do NOT have access to the other newspapers.

Chronicling America (1836--1922; dates vary for selected papers)

Based at the Library of Congress, this is an online newspaper collection of over a million pages from these states: Arizona, California, District of Columbia, Florida, Hawaii, Illinois, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Minnesota, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, New York, Ohio, Oklahoma, Oregon, Pennsylvania, South Carolina, Texas, Utah, Virginia, and Washington. Includes the Richmond Times-Dispatch and its predecessors, and several DC newspapers.

British Newspapers

London Gazette Archive (selected indexing from 1665 to present, with results in PDF format.) Official newspaper of record for UK. Portal also includes Edinburgh Gazette and Belfast Gazette.

People's Paper (London) - microfilm, 1852--1858, no index.

News Magazines (Contemporary and Historic)

All of the news magazines listed below are indexed in the databases above. The current periodical stacks are located on the first floor of the library, across from the reference materials. Check the Library's Journal Title Search for additional sources and dates, as many of these are available full text in additional databases.

  • Christian Century - microfiche.
  • Harper's - microfiche and current periodical stacks.
  • Nation - microfiche and current periodical stacks.
  • Newsweek - microfiche, microfilm.
  • New Republic - microfiche and current periodical stacks.
  • Saturday Review - microfilm, microfiche.
  • U.S. News & World Report - microfilm, microfiche.

Librarian

Laurie Preston's picture
Laurie Preston
Contact:
McGraw-Page Library
Randolph-Macon College
P.O. Box 5005
305 Henry Street
Ashland VA 23005-5505
804-752-4718

Television

Richmond Affiliates:
ABC: WRIC (channel 8)
CBS: WTVR (channel 6)
NBC: WWBT (channel 12)
PBS: WCVE (channel 23)

National/International
ABC News
BBC News
CBS News
CNN
CNN International Ed.
FOX News
MSNBC
NBC News
PBS News

Radio

RadioLocator
Guide to over 10,000 radio station sites and 2,000 internet radio streams worldwide

Radio Stations - Virginia (NewsLink)
List of stations categorized by genre

National Public Radio

BBC Radio